SMT-V is the open-access, peer-reviewed video journal of the Society for Music Theory. Founded in 2014, SMT-V publishes video essays that showcase research in music theory in a dynamic, audiovisual format, presented so as to have the potential to engage both specialists within the field as well as interested viewers outside the music theory community. The journal features a supportive and collaborative production process, and publishes three to four videos per year.


SMT-V is overseen by an Editor who organizes the vetting of the videos, along with an Associate Editor who aids with the technical details. Members of the editorial board help to vet submitted videos.

Those wishing to publish a video on SMT-V should first submit a written proposal summarizing the proposed project. If the proposed project is deemed appropriate, the author will be invited to submit a draft of a storyboard or script. Upon acceptance of the script, the author will be invited to produce a full video in conjunction with guidance and assessment from selected members of the Editorial Board. Details regarding the submission process are found at https://societymusictheory.org/smt-v/submission_guidelines.

If you have any questions about the process, please feel free to contact the SMT-V Editor.

Editorial Board

Editor: Poundie Burstein (Hunter College and the Graduate Center, CUNY): SMT-V-editor@societymusictheory.org.

Associate Editor: Seth Monahan (Eastman School of Music): SMT-V-associate-editor@societymusictheory.org.

Members at Large

  • Michael Buchler, Florida State University (2020)
  • Jonathan De Souza, University of Western Ontario (2020)
  • Melissa Hoag, Oakland University, (2021)
  • Megan Kaes Long, Oberlin College and Conservatory (2020)
  • Henry Martin, Rutgers University (2021)
  • David Neumeyer, University of Texas (2021)
  • Drew Nobile, University of Oregon (2019)
  • Carmel Raz, Max Planck Institute (2021)
  • Daphne Tan, University of Toronto (2019)
  • Christopher White, University of Massachusetts Amherst (2020)

Webmaster: William O’Hara (Gettysburg College): wohara@gettysburg.edu